Children in Benin

Governmental cooperation focuses on Belgium’s 18 partner countries, i.e. developing countries with which our country has concluded a general cooperation agreement and adopted multiannual Indicative Cooperation Programmes (ICPs).

Belgium can also take action in various other countries through a range of channels and actors, including NGOs, multilateral cooperation and emergency aid programmes, among others.

The classification by the Development Assistance Committee (DAC), a sub-group of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), determines whether or not a country can be deemed a developing country and therefore whether the aid received by that country can be considered official development assistance (ODA). The list is published on the OECDExternal link website.