Belgium celebrates 25 years of diplomatic relations with former USSR countries

25 years ago, 11 countries which belonged to the USSR became independent and established diplomatic relations with Belgium. Deputy Prime Minister and Minister for Foreign Affairs Didier Reynders organized today, in cooperation with the Egmont Institute, a high-level conference to celebrate this anniversary.
Speakers from Azerbaijan, Armenia, Belarus, Uzbekistan, Ukraine, Moldova, Kyrgyzstan, Tajikistan, Georgia, Kazakhstan and Turkmenistan took the floor. This conference is a milestone in the deepening of our relations with these countries. Over the last 25 years, our relations have developed in many areas.

The conference provided also the opportunity to discuss common challenges faced by our countries.
The interest for this conference, and other events organised throughout the year by our embassies, shows the way  for future cooperation. Belgium will continue to deepen these links and to share its experience with these partners, from a perspective of friendship and mutual respect and on the basis of the Rule of Law, good governance and multilateral cooperation for prosperity, peace and security.