The Convention of the Prohibition of Cluster Munitions celebrates its tenth anniversary

The Convention on the Prohibition of Cluster Munitions celebrates its tenth anniversary. The Convention was signed on 3 December 2008 in Oslo. Belgium pioneered the fight against cluster munitions by adopting in 2006 the first law in the world prohibiting these weapons. In 2007 this commitment was complemented by a law on divestment in the field of cluster munitions production.

10 years later, Belgium remains mobilized, politically and in the field, for the fight against cluster munitions, risk awareness and assistance to victims.

Victim assistance is a fundamental pillar of action against cluster munitions and must remain central to the efforts of the States Parties to the Oslo Convention.

The latest available data point to an important decline in cluster munition casualties, which we welcome. The effort to eliminate these non-discriminating weapons must nevertheless continue. Belgium encourages all States to join the Convention in order to establish a universal standard against cluster munitions.

Demining, whether it concerns mines, cluster munitions or improvised explosive devices, remains a priority for Belgium. This year, EUR 2.8 million has been allocated to provide victim assistance, to decontaminate land, to raise risk awareness with communities and to keep the goal of a mine- and cluster-free world high on the international agenda.

The Oslo Convention shows that a multilateral approach achieving concrete results promotes stability, security and peace. It is in this spirit that Belgium will begin its mandate as a non-permanent member of the Security Council in January 2019, under the motto "Fostering Consensus. Acting for Peace.”