Non-partner countries


Besides the 14 partner countries involved in governmental cooperation, some other developing countries also receive aid from Belgium. Depending on the source of that aid, the amounts concerned can vary tremendously from year to year. The statistics compiled by Belgian Development Cooperation all detail such support, which may take the form of non-recurrent expenditure or expenditure spread over a limited period. Generally the programmes in question have to do with emergency or humanitarian aid (falling under the foreign affairs budget), loans or debt cancellations (falling under the development cooperation or finance budget). However, they may also entail commitments spread over several years with actors other than the Belgian state (including NGOs, universities, regions and municipalities, among others).

In a bid to make aid even more effective, at least where activities subsidised by DGD are concerned, the minister is striving to achieve even greater synergies within the government’s policy focus.