Financial and economic institutions

Find out more about the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD), the Financial Stability Board, the International Monetary Fund (IMF), and the Bank for International Settlements (BIS).

Financial Stability Board (FSB)

The decision to establish the Financial Stability Board (FSB) was made during the G20 Summit in London on 2 April 2009. It succeeded the Financial Stability Forum. All the G20 members, Spain, the Netherlands, Switzerland, Singapore, the European Union, and Hong Kong are represented. The role of the FSB is to identify vulnerabilities in the global financial system and put forward measures to remedy them. It acts as a forum for the States, international organisations and sector-based associations involved in financial stability.
  1. Last updated on


The Financial Stability Board is composed of:

  • the national authorities responsible for financial stability;
  • sector-based associations that produce standards and codes, e.g., the Basel Committee;  
  • international organisations, such as the Bank for International Settlements (BIS), the IMF, the World Bank, and the OECD.