Brexit: homepage

 
Introduction

A majority of British voters chose to withdraw the United Kingdom (UK) from the European Union (EU) in a referendum on 23 June 2016. The EU and the UK concluded a Withdrawal Treaty, which entered into force on 1 February 2020. From then on the United Kingdom is no longer a member state of the EU. Nonetheless, the Withdrawal Treaty started a transition period which lasted until 31 December 2020. During this period, EU rules continued to apply in the relationship between the EU and the UK and the EU and the UK conducted negotiations for a second treaty that should govern the future relations between them beyond 1 January 2021.

Negotiators from the European Commission and the British government reached an agreement on a treaty on 24 December 2020. The new “Trade and Cooperation Treaty” foresees a framework for trade in goods and services, transport, energy, and investments, as well as for police and judicial cooperation, cooperation in social security, public health and cyber security. The UK will still participate in certain cooperation programs of the EU, but for instance not in the well-known Erasmus student exchange program. The Treaty was signed on 30 December 2020 by Commission President Ursula von der Leyen and European Council President Charles Michel for the EU and British Prime Minister Boris Johnson for the UK.

This Treaty could not be ratified in time because it was agreed only just before the end of the transition period. This would in principle have led to a short period of a no deal scenario after 1 January. In order to avoid such a drastic change in EU-UK relations on 1 January 2021, both sides agreed to provisionally apply the Treaty pending its formal ratification.

In any case, the UK will no longer be a member of the European single market and customs union on 1 January 2021. Despite the new Treaty, this will create obstacles to the movement of people, goods, services and capital between the UK and the EU as we know it. Individuals as well as businesses have to adapt to this new reality.

 
For business

  1. You are a Belgian company that wishes to inform itself about EU-rules which will are applicable to trade with the United Kingdom since 1 January 2021. You can find useful guidelines for this on the website of the Federal Public Service of Economy. In addition, you can consult specific technical readiness notices from the European Commission  (link). These sources explain which concrete changes are applicable and what preparations they require. These sources need to be read in accordance with the new treaty that provisionally entered into force since 1 January 2021 pending its ratification. More information about the content of the treaty can be found via this link.
     
  2. You are a Belgian company that wishes to inform itself about British rules which are applicable to trade with the EU since 1 January 2021. You can find useful guidelines for this via this link as well as on the website of the British government. These sources need to be read in accordance with the new treaty that provisionally entered into force since 1 January 2021 pending its ratification. More information about the content of the treaty can be found via this link
     
  3. You are a foreign company that wishes to inform itself about the procedures, controls, handling, and traffic flows in or to the Belgian seaports that are applicable there since 1 January 2021. You can find a usefull overview for this with relevant links.

 
For individuals

  1. You are a Belgian citizen who resided in the United Kingdom before or on 31 December 2020 the latest (link).
     
  2. You are a British national or resident who wishes to travel to Belgium for a short period (link). Please take into account the since 1 January 2021 revised travel advice for travel between the UK and the EU on the website of the Belgian Embassy in London (link).  
     
  3. You are a British national who wishes to reside in Belgium and who seeks information about a stay started on or after 1 January 2021 (link).
     
  4. You are a British national who resided in Belgium before or on 31 december 2020 the latest (link).
     
  5. You are a Belgian citizen who wishes to study in the United Kingdom or travel there for a short period. Please take into account the since 1 January 2021 revised travel advice for travel between the EU and the United Kingdom (link).
     
  6. You are a Belgian citizen who wishes to reside in the United Kingdom and who seeks information about a stay started on or after 1 January 2021 (link).
     
  7. You are a British frontier worker (link).

 
Useful links to other sources of information

All Belgian public services are responsible for providing information on the Brexit-related preparations and management actions they take in their respective areas of competence. With this in mind, an overview of useful links and sources of information can be found below.
 

Europe Direct Contact Center

EU helpline for guidance on EU-rules and the readiness-notices in particular

webform

00 800 6 7 8 9 10 11

(Brexit)

Portal of the Chancellery of the Prime Minister

General portal with references to sources of information at Belgian public services

website

 

FPS Economy

Questions related to trade and economy

website

0800 120 33
info.eco@economie.fgov.be (general)

FPS Finances (customs and excises)

Procedures regarding customs and excises

website

02 575 55 55 (Brexit)

Federal Agency for the Safety of the Food Chain

Sanitary and fytosanitary procedures regarding the transport of animals, plants, products of animal or plant origin, food, and pets

website

 

02 211 98 98 (Brexit)
brexit@favv.be

Immigration Office

British citizens in Belgium

website

02 793 80 00
infodesk@ibz.fgov.be (general)

FPS Employment

Employment-related questions

website

 

informatie@werk.belgie.be (general)

FPS Social Security

Social security-related questions

website

 

02 545 50 70 (general)
international@minsoc.fed.be

 

FPS Mobility and Transport

Transport-related questions

website

 

Protocol FPS Foreign Affairs

Questions of British citizens regarding their special international residence statute in Belgium

website

 

Emergency number Belgian Embassy in Londen

Belgian citizens in need in the United Kingdom

website

+44 (0)7423001276
London.Brexit@diplobel.fed.be

Emergency number Belgian Embassy in France

Belgian citizens in need in France

website

+33 6 84 53 19 44 (Paris)
+33 6 11 13 02 21 (Marseille)

Brexit: page d’accueil

 
Introduction

Lors d’un référendum organisé 23 juin 2016, une majorité d'électeurs britanniques se sont prononcés pour que le Royaume-Uni (UK) se retire de l'Union européenne (UE). L'UE et le Royaume-Uni ont donc conclu un accord de retrait qui est entré en vigueur le 1er février 2020. Depuis lors, le Royaume-Uni n'est plus un État membre de l'Union européenne. Cependant, cet accord de retrait prévoit une période de transition qui a pris fin le 31 décembre 2020. Durant cette période de transition, les règles de l'UE ont continué à s'appliquer dans les relations entre l'UE et le Royaume-Uni et l'UE et le Royaume-Uni ont continué à négocier un nouveau cadre réglementaire pour leurs relations après le 1er janvier 2021.

Les négociateurs de la Commission européenne et du gouvernement britannique sont parvenus à un consensus sur un traité le 24 décembre 2020. Le nouvel « traité de commerce et de coopération » prévoit des règles sur le commerce des biens et des services, les transports, l'énergie et les investissements, ainsi que sur la coopération policière et judiciaire, la sécurité sociale, la santé publique et la cybersécurité. Le Royaume-Uni participera toujours à certains programmes de coopération de l'UE, mais pas, par exemple, au célèbre programme d'échange d'étudiants Erasmus. Le traité a été signé le 30 décembre 2020 par la présidente de la Commission, Ursula von der Leyen, le président du Conseil européen, Charles Michel, pour l'UE, et le Premier ministre britannique, Boris Johnson, pour le Royaume-Uni.

Ce traité n'a pas pu être ratifié à temps car il n'a été adopté que juste avant la fin de la période de transition. Cela aurait en principe conduit à une courte période de no-deal après le 1er janvier. Afin d'éviter une césure aussi radicale dans les relations UE-Royaume-Uni le 1er janvier 2021, les deux parties ont convenu d'une application provisoire du traité. Entre-temps il a été ratifié et est formellement entré en vigueur le 1er may 2021.

En tout état de cause, le Royaume-Uni ne fera plus partie du marché unique européen ni de l'union douanière à partir du 1er janvier 2021. Malgré le nouvel traité, ce retrait crée des obstacles à la circulation des personnes, des biens, des services et des capitaux entre le Royaume-Uni et l'UE. Tant les particuliers que les entreprises doivent s'adapter à cette nouvelle réalité.

 
Pour les entreprises

  1. Vous êtes une entreprise belge qui souhaite s’informer sur les règles de l'UE applicables aux échanges commerciaux avec le Royaume-Uni depuis le 1er janvier 2021. Vous trouverez des indications utiles sur le site internet du SPF Economie. En outre, nous vous invitons à consulter les avis spécifiques techniques de préparation (readiness notices) de la Commission européenne (lien). Ces sources expliquent les changements spécifiques qui s'appliquent maintenant que le Royaume-Uni ne fait plus partie du marché intérieur ni de l'union douanière et les dispositions à prendre pour y faire face. Ces sources doivent être lues conjointement avec le nouvel traité de commerce et de coopération.
     
  2. Vous êtes une entreprise belge qui souhaite s’informer sur les règles britanniques applicables aux échanges avec l'UE depuis le 1er janvier 2021. Vous trouverez des indications utiles via ce lien ainsi que sur le site internet du gouvernement britannique. Ces sources doivent être lues conjointement avec le nouvel traité de commerce et de coopération.
     
  3. Vous êtes une entreprise étrangère qui souhaite obtenir des informations sur les procédures, les contrôles, les flux de trafic vers  les ports maritimes belges et leur gestion, applicables depuis le 1er janvier 2021. Vous trouverez à cet effet un aperçu utile avec des liens pertinents.   

 
Pour les personnes

  1. Vous êtes belge et vous séjourniez avant ou au plus tard le 31 décembre 2020 au Royaume-Uni (lien).
     
  2. Vous êtes belge et vous souhaitez des informations sur un séjour au Royaume-Uni qui débute à partir du ou après le 1er janvier 2021 (lien).
     
  3. Vous êtes belge et vous souhaitez faire des études au Royaume-Uni ou y voyager pour une court séjour. Tenez compte des conseils aux voyageurs adaptés depuis le 1er janvier 2021 pour les voyages entre l'UE et le Royaume-Uni (lien).
     
  4. Vous êtes britannique et vous séjourniez avant ou au plus tard le 31 décembre 2020 en Belgique (lien).
     
  5. Vous êtes britannique et vous souhaitez des informations sur un séjour en Belgique qui débute à partir du ou après le 1er janvier 2021 (lien).
     
  6. Vous êtes britannique ou vous résidez au Royaume-Uni et vous souhaitez voyager en Belgique pour un court séjour (lien). Tenez compte des conseils aux voyageurs adaptés depuis le 1er janvier 2021 pour les voyages entre le Royaume-Uni et l'UE (lien)
     
  7. Vous êtes un travailleur frontalier britannique (lien) et vous souhaitez vous conformer aux règles belges applicables depuis le 1er janvier 2021.

 
Liens utiles vers d'autres sources d'information

Tous les services gouvernementaux belges sont eux-mêmes responsables de fournir des informations sur les préparatifs liés à Brexit et les mesures de gestion qu'ils prennent dans leurs domaines de compétence respectifs. Dans cette optique, un aperçu des liens utiles et des sources d'information est fourni ci-dessous.

 

Centre d'information Europe Direct

Ligne d'assistance téléphonique de l'UE pour des explications sur les règles de l'UE, en particulier les avis de préparation (readiness-notices)

formulaire internet

00 800 6 7 8 9 10 11 (Brexit)

Portail de la Chancellerie Premier ministre

Portail général avec des références aux sources d'information pertinentes dans les services publics belges

site internet

 

SPF Économie

Questions économiques et commerciales

site internet

0800 120 33
info.eco@economie.fgov.be (général)

SPF Finances (douane et accises)

Procédures relatives à la douane et aux accises

site internet

02 575 55 55 (Brexit)

Agence fédérale pour la Sécurité de la Chaîne alimentaire

Procédures sanitaires et phytosanitaires concernant le transport d'animaux, de plantes, de produits d'origine animale ou végétale, de denrées alimentaires et d'animaux de compagnie

site internet

 

02 211 98 98 (Brexit)
brexit@afsca.be

Office des étrangers

Britanniques en Belgique

site internet

02 793 80 00
infodesk@ibz.fgov.be (général)

SPF ETCS

Questions relatives au travail

site internet

 

informatie@werk.belgie.be (général)

SPF Sécurité sociale

Questions relatives à la sécurité sociale

site internet

 

02 545 50 70 (général)
international@minsoc.fed.be

 

SPF Mobilité

Questions relatives aux transports

site internet

 

Protocole au SPF Affaires étrangères

Questions des Britanniques sur leur statut spécial international de résident en Belgique

site internet

 

Numéro d'urgence de l’Ambassade de Belgique à Londres

Belges en difficulté au Royaume-Uni

site internet

+44 (0)7423001276
London.Brexit@diplobel.fed.be

Numéro d'urgence de l’Ambassade de Belgique en France

Belges en difficulté en France

site internet

+33 6 84 53 19 44 (Paris)
+33 6 11 13 02 21 (Marseille)